pan tension.. need some help

backwoodsbarry

i am new to trapping and have kinda just dove in head first. I've spent countless hours on this site and on youtube listening and learning from my mistakes, I've got a feeling i have a slop problem and i can't seem to find any info on how to adjust pan tension or how to measure pan tension any helpful tips or where i could start looking to solve my huge problem. You guys are awesome.

first off I have to ask, what trap do you have and does your pan have a bolt on the tang? if it does all you have to do is tighten the nut, as for measuring pan tension, get you a 2x4 and cut it in 1,2,3,4,5 feet sections, each foot of a 2x4 is roughly a pound. you can set your trap and then gently place the 2x4 on the pan, when the trap doesn't fire, you have found your pan tension (roughly) but close enough to know what it is. if have any other questions feel free to ask. its why I am here. lol.

sorry jeff i'm still figuring this whole posting in the forums thing out i have the bridger double coils in a #3 and#2's and yes they do have the nuts on the tang what do you think the best poundage is to run whats your preferred i guess i should say. main target will be coyotes until cat season opens up again later on

if you realy want to take the guess work out of it, get you some of these, they are sweet. and there is no pan creep, just put them on and go. you can also set your trap and leave the pan in the up position til you get to the location and then just stake, gently push down pan til click and bed, cover and go. I use them and love them.

for your traps you'll need kit #2.

http://www.sullivansline.com/sline/hardware/hardpit.aspx