Hornady GMX vs Barnes Tipped TSX

Rotty

Which one would you choose and why....looking at hunting bullets for my 6.5 grendel.
Hornady has a higher BC, but wondering if the expansion will be as good as a barnes.

I have no experience with the GMX, but quite a bit with Barnes. I suspect the GMX will perform like a Barnes.

I have used Barnes since about when they came on the market, 1992. The TSX and T-TSX are very accurate and very deadly.

Try both and use the most accurate one.

The only Barnes experiance I've had was watching my friend shoot a coyote and antelope, then me shoot a badger on the same day with a 22-250 w / I think a ttsx (might be a tsx?) It performed flawlessly and was very accurate

The GMX worked ok, have yet to shoot anything with it

For the 6.5 Grendel I would use the Barnes 100 gr Tipped TSX. I saw my son shoot a coyote twice with 120 gr Barnes TSX bullets and the coyote ran about 70 yards before it fell over. It had very small exit holes on both shots.

It looks like the GMX only comes in 120 gr in 6.5 mm. If I was going to shoot this type of bullet in the 6.5 Grendel I would want the extra speed of the Barnes 100 gr TTSX.

Originally Posted By: derbyacresbobFor the 6.5 Grendel I would use the Barnes 100 gr Tipped TSX. I saw my son shoot a coyote twice with 120 gr Barnes TSX bullets and the coyote ran about 70 yards before it fell over. It had very small exit holes on both shots.

It looks like the GMX only comes in 120 gr in 6.5 mm. If I was going to shoot this type of bullet in the 6.5 Grendel I would want the extra speed of the Barnes 100 gr TTSX.

I agree with the lighter bullet. Since they hold 100% of their weight, you can use a lighter bullet and still get better penetration.

I'm not sure I'd go with a monometal at 6.5G velocities unless I had too legally. I've had such good luck with Hornady SSTs (129s) in my 6.5x55 that I think I'd start there.