How long would you leave a bobcat cage trap in one place without success?

grizjack

Hey everyone! I'm new to the trapping game and I've gotten started. I have some excellent looking setups that I think should really be great for catching cats. One of them has produced my first bobcat! (story to come later when I'm not so tired) But on the other setups I haven't had any sign of cats. My question is: How long should a person stick a set before they pull it and try somewhere else? I'm trying to be patient but I also don't want to waste my season. Is there a rule of thumb to go by? I'd love to hear from anybody with knowledge on the subject. The next question is an ethical one. With my successful location, how many cats should I attempt to take in a season? I don't want to wipe out a spot but also have no idea how many I can take without impacting the population. Not that I really have to concern myself with this question seeing that I have only caught one cat but just curious about what the standard is. Look forward to hearing from everyone.

I might also add that I have to use live traps in my state and can't afford to buy enough traps to just leave them all over the place.

I leave mine set for a week or if it looks like a really good spot I might leave it for a little longer than that.If I don't catch anything after that I'll move it to a different spot.I've only been trapping for aout 4 years so I can't say I'm that experienced but I've caught a few cats so I know that what I do will work.Someone that has been trapping for a lot longer than I have might tell you to keep them in one spot for longer than that but I leave my traps in one spot for at least a week.It helps if you know that a bobcat is in the area that you have your trap set.It might take the cat a few days to find it but more times than not it'll make it's way back to where you have your trap set.