POF upper????

12Ring

I am brand new to the AR world so this may be a stupid question. I'm thinking about buying a POF upper with the forward assist and dust cover. A guy at a shop (not where I'm gonna buy the upper) told me that if I bought a POF upper, I had to buy all POF parts to go with it.

He also said that if I pieced the AR are together it would cost me more. He said it was cheaper to buy it already together. So my question is, Is that true? I thought that the uppers and lowers were interchangeable with all the other AR makers parts?? Is that not the case with a POF upper??

That's a crock of poo. POF are fine rifles but they are also one of the most expensive. You can build one for like $500 so he was just trying to take advantage of a noob and get a big sale. ARs are interchangeable (minus colt lowers, different pin size) and there are plenty of resources on this forum and ar15.com where you can piece it together or buy the parts separately have have someone assemble it for you for much cheaper. Good luck!

I have built 4 complete "mutts" as far as ARs are concerned.

I have 2 more in process guns,,one will be wrapped up on saturday night.,,it will be either slightly higher or the same as my most expensive one.

Complete upper 400.

stripped lower 99
lpk 60
stock kit 67.

This will be a matched set up,,upper and lower,,coulda built it up cheaper,,with mismatched stuff.

X

Might want to check with KIES if you think POF's are 100% compatible.

I have no personal experience with them, but in my discussion with Travis...Their uppers are built for POF lowers or their own lowers. This would lead me to believe POF is at least slightly different than "typical".