4everbowhunts 2010 Fall Bear

4everbowhunt

Hi Folks...Newbie here and thought I would share my last falls bear hunt with you.This was my 34th bear and 31 of them taken with archery gear.

On Sunday, Sept.12th , my buddy Fred called to let me know that we had 3 bears in between 2:00 and 2:30 pm the day before at one of our bait sites with two of them being good bears. Armed with the knowledge that the bears were in this early, I decided to hunt the next day.

Day 1 : Pretty Quiet

Being the opening day of the fall archery bear hunt for the next 2 weeks, the next day had me on stand at 12:45 pm. At 8:15 pm, Fred came in to get me so I would not let any lingering bears know I was on stand and spook them climbing down. During my sit I saw nothing but 2 squirrels and several jays.

Strike one up to the bears

Day 2 : Gotta Love the Rain

On Tuesday I climbed into my stand at 3 pm and within 15 minutes, it started to rain. By 5:30 pm, my tree was leaking so badly that I was entirely soaked. At this point I figured there were no bears nearby so I climbed down and headed for home.

Strike one up to Mother Nature

Day 3 : Final Day - Perseverence pays off

On Wednesday I was ½ mile from where I park when a torrential downpour with hailstones started. It was 2 pm. However, by 3:15 pm, it was over and the sun started shining. I headed to my stand site and was settled in by 4 pm.
There was no action until almost dark when a nice bear came in and although it was very respectable, it wasn’t the big one I was after. However, since this was my last night to hunt, I decided rather quickly to take him.

I drew back my Bowtech Tribute and sent a Rage 3 blade tipped Easton Axis arrow on its way. At 8:15 pm, Fred arrived at the stand and we followed the blood trail, which was awesome to follow, but we had to quit for the night because I figured the bear had gone too far already.