Easiest way to setup bullet seating die?

Ricky Bobby

As you probably can already tell, I'm new to reloading. I have read up on all my manuals, I've got my bench ready, and have picked out the first load that I want to attempt for my .22 Hornet. One thing I haven't quite understood from doing my research is setting my die for the correct bullet seating depth. Is there an easy or simple way to do this? I've read that you can make up a dummy round with no powder or primer to just see what your OAL is, when cycled in the press. Is this the best, foolproof way to do it? I'm so close to getting underway with my first rounds, but want to be sure of everything before I do. Oh, I will be using a RCBS Rock Chucker press with RCBS full-length resizing die set. Thanks

This guy pulls it out a full turn. I just do a quarter of a turn. I do not crimp so disregard the crimping procedure if you do not crimp.

I would not do the dummy round. Not like you are wasting a lot of money by having those things sitting around but I want my length to be the same every time and it does not come out the same if I do it that way. Once you do it the first time tighten the set screw on the die. GTG

From my experience, first thing I think that you should do is read the directions that came with the die. I don`t say this to be rude, but because I found out the hard way that they`re not all set up the same.
I have a couple of dummy rounds set up for a couple load combos that work well for me.
You will have to `sneak up` on your desired COAL, for the first round, meaning adjust it down a little bit at a time.
Once you have it set they should be all realitively close, within a few thousands, maybe better with an ogive guage.
Of course different bullets will require re adjustments.
Does that help?

Just seen the picture of your gear in another post,cool man! I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.