T/C Encore barrel, .223 or .22-250?

Hey guys as you know I am new to the sport and new to the forum. I have a T/C Encore Pro Hunter, walnut stock, blued 24" barrel 6.5x55 Swede, Leupold VX-III 2.5-8 on top. OKAY! Want to reload for this great caliber, so I am keeping the Swede barrel. However, if I am going to start hunting coyotes and I want to get shooting something like a V-Max so i can save the hides should I dump close to 400 dollars on a RCBS Partner Press, dies, powder, brass,bullets etc, OR just buy a .223 or .22-250 and throw the Leupold on top? Now, I have saved a few hundred dollars short term, BUT will probably buy a VX-1 for it later, and then buy the 400 dollars of reloading gear, plus some more brass, dies and bullets for the .22 centerfire.... Consider I am in Maine, one of the most heavily forested states in the Union not the prairie.

Okay, that's the main conundrum. I will throw this in for good measure. My current gun with its 24" barrel is exactly the same length as my handy little Model 94 30-30. I am not a fan of noise, already suffering hearing loss. I would rather get slugged with magnum recoil than have my ears blown off by my friends Ar-15 with a 16" barrel get my drift? I am thinking 26" or 28" barrel. I am not even considering the 24" as no one has a short varmint gun to began with, and being a single shot the thing is short. What are you seasoned guys thinking about all of this? How crazy am I?

The encore is a great gun and both are good calibers. If most of your shots are shorter range, the 223 is a great choice. Easy to load for, cheap easy to find brass and loaded ammo. I would get the barrel first and then save for reloading stuff as you can buy factory ammo until then.keep your eyes out for a good deal on a barrel and you might be able to get a good condition used barrel and a good used scope for cheaper then you think.

Good luck
smile.gif