NOOOOOOO!!!!!

I'm new to trapping, so I finnally got some traps for trapping fox coyote and coon. Finnally got some land to trap 'em on. Just got some snow so the critters moved, and i finnally learned how to trap, but when i went out to check the traps there were fox tracks right on top of 3 of my traps!!! They all froze up! I only set four out there. Well at least i know there out there and Im doing every thing else right. They're not smelling me or my traps. Any info on helping me would be appriciated.
I'm kinda on a budget so anti freeze is out of the question. Well, not really im just poor. If I catch any thing before the end of the season I post it here.

trapper-predator-caller_04 ,
Go inside an old shed, or maybe under a bridge somewhere and collect a few five gallon buckets full of dry dirt. Use this dry dirt to bed your traps in. If you lay wax paper in the trap bed before bedding the trap, moisture from the ground can't wick upward to get your dry dirt wet.

Ditto what Rich said. Also, try to use a soil type for bedding that has larger aggregate than the soil you're bedding in. In other words, use a sandier soil since the larger particle size is less inclined to wick moisture out of the substrate. Also, anti-freeze is as cheap as a 1# container of good ol' table salt. Yeah, there are better things to use, but for 30-cents a carton, the price is right. Without it, you'll just be wasting fuel and time checking frozen steel.

ONE WORD...Vermiculite.

Carry some in a gallon sized zipo loc in your basket. its the very best for bedding.. will not freeze if you keep it away from moisture.