Virgin Coyote Hunter On Hand

Hoskins

Well first off let me introduce myself. My name is Staff Sergeant Hoskins and am a United States Marine currently stationed aboard Camp Lejeune, NC. I'm orginally from the mountains of southeastern Kentucky. I have hunted and fished nearly all my life. I am self taught on both.

I am dying to get into coyote/varmit/predator hunting. I plan to begin with coyote. I watch the shows, but at this point it is merely entertainment as I know next to nothing in regards to coyote hunting...other than the mere basics you can pick up from watching a sponsored television show. Additionally, I am in south eastern NC & not the prime coyote woods/land of the west.

I came across this sight via Google & figure that there is a wealth of knowledge on here, especially since it is a sight dedicated to predator hunting.

I humbly ask for any advice, knowledge, guidance, etc... to help me learn the in's & out's of predator hunting. Not only am I excited about learning this sport, more importantly...my 11 year old son is. He is the one who has really lit the fire under my butt to learn the ropes so that we can go coyote hunting. The predator hunting shows is something that we sit down and watch together.

Welcome from another KY newbie and thank you for your service. I'm a lifelong hunter as well and dabbled in predators a little but just wanting to get really serious about it now at 52. I've only been on here a week or two but just in scouting these threads I've already picked up a lot of great info. Great advice here on calls, sounds, methods, books, videos etc. Dig into some of the call n kill stories and you'll find nuggets of wisdom. Good luck to you and God Bless.

Well first off welcome to the forums and thank you for your service. It is greatly appreciated!