22-250 why a 1:14 twist rate

rickyb

Years ago I bought a Tika 22-250 with a 1:14 twist rate. I bought this gun to shoot flat and out to 400 yds. I will guess that the 1:14 twist rate shoots lighter bullets with less drop further. Now my question is what are some good bullet choices that are light that also have really good expansion with quick kill. I have a couple of AR 15 with 1:8 and 1:9 that will shoot heavier bullets up to 60 gr. but really don't understand why the 22-250 has the 1:14 twist rate.

This is guess on my part: The point of the .22-250 is speed, other wise what's the point. The faster the twist the more resistance is imparted on the projectile affecting speed, also faster twist usually means longer bullets...also affecting speed. However you can get "faster" twist 250's, but in my mind it seems to defeat the purpose. Like I said though, that's a guess.

Chupa

ricky, I am no ballistics expert but it is my understanding the faster you push a bullet the less twist you need. Now having said that I believe a lot of manufactures would help us a bit by speeding up the twist to accommodate a wider range of bullets. I think alot of gun makers are stuck in the old days when to hype their gun they had to get the velocity up to a certain speed. Also understand that their are always compromises in anything they put out there. Just my opinion. Dave

Your AR's should be able to shoot a lot heavier bullet then 60gr. Mag length will probably be the limiting factor on them. I have good luck with 75gr A-max in a 1:9. If you already have 60gr bullets, roll a couple of them up for your 22-250, they should be border line on whether they stabilize or not, and some guns will some won't

Hi rickyb,