New guy help...y

1ShotKill

This is my first attempt at coyote trapping and i'm having some troubles. The traps i use are Bridger 1.65 coil springs. I boiled them to take off the oil and scent. We have about a foot of snow here right now and about 4-5 inches where my one set is. I watched the area for a couple weeks and coyotes constantly went through there. I have checked it every 2 to 3 days and have had no tracks or anything. Should i use any scent lures or covers? somehow did i get my scent on the traps? I did where gloves putting the stuff out and didn't touch them with bare skin.

Thanks for the help.

Originally Posted By: 1ShotKillThis is my first attempt at coyote trapping and i'm having some troubles. The traps i use are Bridger 1.65 coil springs. I boiled them to take off the oil and scent. We have about a foot of snow here right now and about 4-5 inches where my one set is. I watched the area for a couple weeks and coyotes constantly went through there. I have checked it every 2 to 3 days and have had no tracks or anything. Should i use any scent lures or covers? somehow did i get my scent on the traps? I did where gloves putting the stuff out and didn't touch them with bare skin.

Thanks for the help.

sounds like coyotes are being coyotes you mite try another location where fresh sighn is. you dont need cover scent trying to fool a animals nose is like asking a blind man what he saw today. coyotes can be there today and gone tommrow have had sets sit over a month before they had connected. they simply moved could be a number of things.food source, breeding season pups left the family to find territorys of there own and breed (one would be startled on how far a coyote actualy travels along and outside his "boundrys")the list can go on. u might try dyeing and waxing your traps but i have myself and known many good trappers who have caught coyotes from pups to wary old dogs without dye or wax.