Benchmark Powder

Ravage

I am looking for some views or input on hogdon benchmark powder. I have been loading 55gr vmax's with 25grains of powder into a .223 with it. My first loads into the brass I am using were what I consider very good. 1" groups at 200yrds. Now my second loads into this brass are grouping 5" at 200yrds. Planning to hit the drawing board again and am considering looking at different powders along with different bullets. What are the thoughts on this powder? I am pretty new to reloading and haven't tried any other powders yet.

Try 24.5gr of Benchmark and Winchester Primers pushing that bullet. I had good luck with that when I had my hbar elite.

I've loaded Benchmark extensively in both the .204 and the .223, but have always found that it performed best for me when the loads weren't "pushing the envelope" on velocity. Moderate speeds seemed to always group better. Benchmark and 60gr VMax was as good in the accuracy department as anything else that I loaded for the caliber you're using.

Originally Posted By: HidalgoI've loaded Benchmark extensively in both the .204 and the .223, but have always found that it performed best for me when the loads weren't "pushing the envelope" on velocity. Moderate speeds seemed to always group better. Benchmark and 60gr VMax was as good in the accuracy department as anything else that I loaded for the caliber you're using.

I will agree with Hidalgo on not loading Benchmark too hot. I use Benchmark quite a bit loading for the 223 Rem. I have found that using approximately the middle of the load range for a given weight bullet has given the best results with this powder.

24.2 grains has been the best load with several 52 gr. bullets, and 23.6 has been the best load with 60 gr. bullets. Going more towards the max load makes the groups open up quite a bit.