new to tanning (please help me)

coyote lance

Hey, I am new to tanning and was trying my luck on a couple of rabbit hides because they are real easy to get and I do not want to ruin a good coyote hide. My question is how to flesh the thing and should it take a long time? I have worked on a jackrabbit that I shot yesterday, got it skinned quick, but I am having a real hard time getting the fat and membrane off. I have worked for about 4 hours so far and am about half way done! I am doing this by attaching the skin to a boad, pulling up on the fat/membrane and cutting it away with a razor knife. I tend to cut small pinholes in it while I am doing this and realize there has got to be a better way. I have heard of using a spoon to scrape it off, does this work? Do I need to grind the spoon so that it is sharp? Any advice would help, so please be generous.

The best thing to do considering what you have to work with would be to use a fleshing knife.
(handle on each end of a double blade) and a fleshing beam.
You can make-shift a fleshing beam out of a 2x6 piece of lumber if you have to.

Don't lift the membrane and whittle it off with your knife.

Using the fleshing beam you'll lay the skin flesh side up, flat out, on the beam and scrape the membrane off with your fleshing knife. You'll be leaning against the beam with your waist and by hanging part of the skin over the edge of the beam you'll be holding the skin in place with your body.
Push the fleshing knife away from you, down the beam, across the rabbit skin. Hold the knife so the wide blade lays flat against the skin.

I understand what you are saying, but should the layer of fat and membrain come off in one piece, a bunch of small pieces, or should I just scrape it over and over removing it in layers? Do I treat the skin with anything before I do this, or should I have done this just after I skined it. It is in a pickling solution now.