AR Assembly - lots of pics

mattm

There have been and are lots of questions about "building" or assembling an AR or its components. Last night I put together my dad's Christmas present and took a bunch of photos to post in a kind of "chronicle of a build".

My background is 17 yrs LEO and an M16/AR15 armorer since 98. I have been to the Colt armorer school 4 times and have been a carbine user instructor since 97 as well. I have maintained and repaired tons of rifles and "built" about 8 or 10 from parts over the years.

This is a complete rifle kit from Del-Tons black Friday sale. I have used their stuff in past and like it. Have had no problems and their prices are good. I'm using a lower from JD machine in San Diego I picked up at a gun show. The .204 bbl is a DPMS heavy fluted.

Parts separtated into assembly groups and some of the tools used.
ar_build_001.JPG

ar_build_003.JPG

In assembling the lower I always start w front take down pin. It is a huge pain when first learning. Now I do it by inserting spring and detent then compressing with pin and sliding it in. Big big difference from the first dozen times or so.

Next I do the bolt and mag catch. Do the mag catch first because the bolt catch can get in the way of tightening the mag catch. I use a punch to push out the mag catch and spin it even w/ the bolt catch in. Also use several layers of tape to protect lower when tapping in bolt catch roll pin
ar_build_005.JPG

Next is selector lever (safety), detent spring and grip.
ar_build_007.JPG

Trigger then hammer. Tail of trigger goes under fire selector and gets pinned in. Then hammer. Take your time, this can be fustrating to new inexperienced gun wrestlers. There is an obvious place in the trigger tail for the disconnector spring, the fatter or larger coils go down into the bottom of the groove in trigger tail. It takes some effort to line up the disconnector and trigger pin holes.
ar_build_006.JPG