side charging upper

FINNISHem

Stopped at a local gunshop to pick up a stripped lower and the conversation got around to uppers. Gunsmith suggested sidechargers are not that great. His reasons were lack of accuracy, unreliable and so on. I mentioned a couple of different brands and he shot them down. " ASA sidechargers have had a lot of trouble" and "LAR sidechargers have a reciprocating bolt that seems dangerous" also said sidechargers aren't rigid enough. I would like some opinions from you guys rather than someone more concerned with selling HIS custom ar's.
FINNISHem

I'm very interested in the ASA side charger. It seems to be the most safe version. I was looking at the Alexander Arms style, but that bolt handle kicking back all the time freaks me out. I'd rather have a left side charger to keep my trigger hand where it belongs.

I have no first hand experience with any of them, but it sounds like he's just trying to sell you a gun. I've never read anything about them being less accurate or unreliable and I've been reading as much about them as I can find because of my own interest.

If you get an ASA one, let me know how you like it. The ONLY thing I have heard negative about those, is that the side charger has a tendency to snag on the bolt release button, but they have a modified button to use instead.