Coyote Hunting in Idaho

GreatNorthWest

Hi, I am a college student at BSU and was wondering if anyone knew of any good places to call coyotes around Boise? I have been out towards lucky peak with no luck, does anyone know about towards Kuna? Thanks

There's coyotes in both of those places. I don't know when you went, but the coyotes that I've seen in the last couple weeks are really skiddish. I'm sure it has to do with deer season just ending and in some of those places it's not over. I usually tend to go a little further away as most of those close places get called quite a bit. I'm headed an hour and a half northwest of Boise on Thursday. Also, if you have free ranging cattle there are coyotes close by.

I was on Federal just off the Outlet Mall freeway exit last Wednesday. The kids said "is that a coyote?" and sure enough there he was waltzing around in some grass. Nice looking orange tinged coat. Of course a person cannot hunt there, but it was fun for the kids to see.

brand new to the site and also a BSU student/military guy. just starting in on the coyote hunting and any idaho advice is much appreciated. i would expect the idaho foothills to be a great area for coyotes. seem to see a bunch of yotes up there in the spring time. also blacks creek sounds like it would be an awesome area. your thoughts on the subject?

If you can find some sagebrush on any public land you can potentially call coyotes there. Like the rest of us you just have to take a drive, find a spot you can hide your vehicle from view, exit vehicle as quietly as possible(don't slam doors), get a reasonable distance away from vehicle, and start doing the dying rabbit blues.