Problem with a Weaver Grand Slam

bigsky_songdogs

I have a Weaver Grand Slam that i put on my 300, after getting it sighted in the best i could, it was still 2 inches left, and there is no adjustment left in the scope (i cant move it anymore to bring it center). I am using warne rings, Burris bases. this scope has always been a workhorse, but it is getting older.

My question is-Does this sound like a scope issue, or a mounting issue?

Any help would be appreciated.
thanks
Fin

I'm no expert but are you certain you mounted it correctly? Did you boresight it before taking to the range? Mounting it just a tiny bit incorrectly can bring big trouble as I learned the hard way. I hope your scope is not the problem, good luck.

I believe so, i visually bore sighted it because i couldnt find my bore sighter. The range is my back yard, so i mounted the scope and went out to shoot.

thanks
Fin

I had the same problem on a Winchester Model 700 300 winchester magnum rifle I used to own. It turned out that the rings weren't perfectly seating on the scope and I had to have them lapped and aligned. It's very difficult to tell this is happening ( at least it was to me at the time) After I had this done I was able to sight in the rifle properly. I always bore sight my rifles before taking them to the range also. It will give a good idea if the scope is mounted correctly. Prior to learning this I wasted a heck of a lot of ammo. It's worth a try before deciding the scope is the problem. I hope this helps.

do your rings have a mounting screw on both sides of the base??

Warne rings typically don't, I have a set of millet rings that have quite a bit of windage adjustment in the base of the ring

You could use burris signature zee rings, they fit on weaver style bases. And get the offset insert kit, and you'll be able to adjust your windage with them.