6X45 vs. TCU differences?

CastleRocker

Well I've been wondering, searching, and reading about this new 6x45. So what is the difference between this and my old 6mm TCU that I've been loading for around 30 years? I'm just curious as I'm thinking about getting one.

Thanks in advance!

Your 6mm TCU is a improved design.
This is why you need fireforming loads instead of just resizing the necks. The TCU should have more velocity and use a little more powder.

Those rounds are just the .223 (5.56) and .223 Ackley necked up to .243. It may be easier to see the differences by looking at the parent cartridges.

Originally Posted By: WileE.CoyoteThose rounds are just the .223 (5.56) and .223 Ackley necked up to .243. It may be easier to see the differences by looking at the parent cartridges.

So my TCU has an Ackley shoulder? Thanks for the info as that's something I did not realize. I've always just necked up 223 cases and fireformed them. I've actually never thought to measure the angle of the shoulder.

I have been seeing a lot of interest in the 6x45 cartridge lately and was just really curious as the what the difference was.

All I know for sure is that the TCU has been, and contiues to be one of the most intrinsically accurate barrels I own. Heck it even shoots great when I'm fireforming the brass.

Thanks for the info!

Here are the drawings:

6x45.jpg

6TCU.jpg

I currently have three 6x45s and one 6mm TCU. For the life of me, I just can not beat the 6x45 with the TCU by more than 25 fps or so. From my field shooting with these cartridges, any difference in accuracy is not noticeable. Either one will do the job of the other.
John

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: CastleRockerOriginally Posted By: WileE.CoyoteThose rounds are just the .223 (5.56) and .223 Ackley necked up to .243. It may be easier to see the differences by looking at the parent cartridges.