Before and After on the AR build

trevor73402

Hey all,

Well a couple of weeks ago I posted on here about suggestions on converting my Rock River Entry/Tacticle carbine into a hunting rig. Remember I am new to the AR platform especially as a hunting rig. I've always been a bolt gun guy. Well I think I got it finished and I did a pretty decent job. I shaved the front sight base myself with my dremel, replaced my collapsible stock with a Magpul PRS stock, and replaced the hand guards with a MidWest Industried SS Mid length free float tube. I added a PEPR on top and I already had the 6-18x40 scope. I ordered all the parts and the tools and did it all myself. It wasn't that hard at all really. I'm very happy with the way it turned out. It's light weight, maneuverable, and feels really good with the Magpul PRS. I think it will work great for a calling gun. Now, it's time for load development. If anyone has any good loads let me know. I was thinking 25-27grns of Varget, 55gr Vmax, Win brass, and CCI 400 primers. Here are pics before and after.
d64688c0.jpg

1eeb9c79.jpg

cc9238ad.jpg

Last edited:
It certainly changed it's personality... I think that eventually, you will find your scope is a little too high power for most predator hunting...unless the majority of your shots will be in the 150+ yard range...

Most Predator hunters wind up with 2-10x range scopes due to the ease of getting on fur at closer quarters..but that is a subject for future consideration.... I like the overall effect...

Turtle,
I know it's probably a little higher power than alot of people might use, however I've always been a high magnification hunter. My dad worked with me alot when I was a kid about getting on target and then acquiring the target in the glass. I practiced it so much as a child that I got to where I challenged myself by using the highest magnification possible when hunting to see how fast I could pick up the target or already be on the target when my head fell behind the glass.