What is a Decoy dog?

Devin69

What is a Decoy dog and what are his duties?
What is expected of him.
Is he to go get the coyotes or just sit by the caller and recover a wounded coyote?
What should the range on the dog be? If any?
How big should the dog be? Big small or med? Or does it matter?
Should the dog be a certian color?
1,2, or more dogs? Or does it matter
Does the terrain or cover play into what kind of dog you use or need?
This really could be a good discussion but too many of they guys that get on here wear their feelings on the shoulders and get thier panties all wadded up.
This forum has not had a good discussion for a long,long time. If it is true that many could learn then lets hear from all you guys that know how to do it and have seen a True Decoy dog work.

I think that would be a good discussion as long as it stays civil. I'm new to the whole Decoy Dog thing, and would like to learn more about it. I know it was a big deal about how Tony runs his dogs, but what is a Ture Decoy Dog. I would like to hear all about it. Im all ears. Thanks

Come on Devin, i'd sure like to hear you opinions on a decoy dog. I feel we could learn alot from you as you are a true dogman. I've seen a few decoy dogs work and I'm gonna train my pup to be like them. I'm just a newbie to decoy dogs, so take it for what it's worth.

I feel a decoy dog goes out and interacts with the coyotes.Coming back towards the caller and bringing the coyotes with. I also want to have "enough" dog to finish off a cripple. I want a med ranging dog, not a dog that will run em outta the country but is willing to get out there and work. Ideal would be to have 2 dogs working. I prefer a med dog and color doesn't matter. Maybe i'm just dreaming but that's what i believe a decoy dog is in my mind. All my opinions come from things I've learned(alot from a few guys on the board) and the others are from seeing what works.