Do coyotes eat apples?

GAP

I'm a newbie at this, just called up my first coyote two weeks ago. I see that coyotes are very opportunistic and will eat about anything. I live in a large apple producing county, and there is a bumper crop this year. I'm hunting an area of cattle pastures interspersed with apple orchards. There are a ton of apples on the ground and plenty of grasshoppers in the orchards and pastures. I see plenty of fresh coyote tracks in the dust, in and around the orchards, some apparently made the night before, however, I'm having difficulty getting any to respond to rabbit distress calls(other than the one two weeks ago).

I hope this isn't a stupid question but will coyotes eat apples and stuff themselves to the point of not responding to a rabbit distress?

Last edited:
Absolutely

PS000033.jpg

Coyotes eat all sorts of veggies and fruits, but since you mentioned grasshoppers it wouldn't surprise at all if they aren't in there stuffing themselves with mostly grasshoppers. It surprises many, but coyotes (especially young of the year) have a real acquired taste for 'hoppers and will gorge themselves on them in the fall of the year. You need a grasshopper distress call! LOL...
wink.gif

And cantaloupes, and watermelon and corn on the cob, and persimmons!!!

I had a local produce farmer contact me about coyotes damaging his crops. I thought "yeah right". He told me he had trail camera photos of them coming out of his fields carrying the goods. He showed me, "no BS," corn on the cob, watermelon,canteloupes, squash, you name it, I saw pictures of it walking outta there, everything he grew was being taking. They carry off the little watermelons and just bite into the bigs one and leave em.

A biologist said, if it will provide him with nutrition, he knows it, and he will eat it.