Hornady Interlocks or Sierra Game Kings?

CWeeks

I tried the accubonds in 140 grains with my new 7mm and am not happy with the results. It is time to try a new bullet. I am using IMR 4350 and would like to know if any of you fellas have used both or even one of these and with what results you were able to obtain

I will not bad mouth the Interlocks because I have no experience with them. I will however sing the praises of the Sierra GameKings. In my opinion they are one of the best killing bullets out there and they do not break the bank.

The GameKing bullet as I see them are a wonderful combination of great penetration, very good expansion and exceptional accuracy. I have recovered some bullets that penetrated almost the entire Big Game animal (front to back or back to front) and expanded very nicely but still held together well.

Other times they have obviously expanded well because of the damage but completely penetrated Deer and Pigs. The damage is not overly destructive as far as meat damage but the effect of the animals were immediate and decisive.

I give a huge thumbs up to the Sierra GameKing bullets.

I have used both & could be happy with either, predators & up to deer & such. Many seem to think the Hornady is a firmer bullet, could be. I get a lot of pass-thrus with most everything, going with that soft tissue shot at back edge of the leg. I'm still shooting 165 grn interlocks I loaded up for the 308 years ago.

No, for bear I loaded up a 180grn partition, though the others would of done the job fine. I shot an average bear, not the 500lb'er.

Last edited:
i run both sierra gamekings and hornady interlock depending what the individual rifle shoots better. i've flipped back and forth in my 7mm's and have run the gamut of 7mm offerings from 120 grains up.