Boone and Crocket bear

we are just going to boil it, have you ever heard that using beetles will not shrink the skull as much as boiling it. The taxidermist said he didn't think there was any truth to it. and it would be more money and we are already way past my limit.

You might want to spray it with a pressure washer. It just cuts that meat and stuff right off. We did it on a buffalo skull, and a friend did it on an elk. It works great!

Originally Posted By: Yotes2Callbe careful boiling... have seen 2 skulls fall apart from not being done right ! very sad.....

don't even say that, you don't know how heart broken I would be if that happens.

I use a pressure washer on all my elk and deer but boil them first, are you doing it with a raw head?

use a wire wheel if you boil it will shrink the skull, it even suggests on numerous websites that it will downsize the record! buuut i have no experience with this at all! i wonder if you could send it out to a taxi in another state?

Originally Posted By: Super White HunterI use a pressure washer on all my elk and deer but boil them first, are you doing it with a raw head?
Yeah, we were.

Just getting into this game. This spring was the first season for me and it definantly wont be my last. Congras on the bog boy.

Shoot me a PM. My brother has a beetle colony and does skulls. Boiling is a bad idea if its that close to making book, I wouldnt take the chance if it was mine.

Guy

I got a phone call tonight asking me to look at this thread. 1st off, great bear, congrats. 2nd hold the horses on your plans. You want the skull either bugged or macerated.

Definitely don't boil it. I did more euro's last year than most will see in a lifetime. Boiling ruins more skulls than you can count. At best you do it right and you end up with a forever yellow skull that you'll never get the grease out of. The heat sets in stains and short of a can of spray paint it will never be white.