243 vs. 243 WSSM

Trapper Luke

Alright so I was gonna go with a 22-250 for my 2nd go to yote gun and for a varmint rifle that I can take them 400-600 yard shots with but thinkin now Im gonna go with the 243 since they can buck the wind a better and hit harder at them distances. Anyways for all you experts out there if you had the choice of a plain jane 243 or a 243 WSSM which one would it be and why?

Guess I might have swayed your opinion some. I love my .243, and you wouldn't NEED more than that. From what I understand the WSSM's burn barrels faster. I like to go to the range and make the gongs sing and such as well as hunt. Plus, I am a broke college student so I can't afford replacing barrels.

However, I really want an AR! And, I was thinking when I can afford one I'd really like a .243, but I don't really want an AR-10 platform cause of the weight and cost. So I figured that I could get a .243WSSM AR-15 upper and by the time I can afford a $900+ upper I'll have the cash for reloading so I'd load my bullets at more standard .243win speeds.

I could always cook up a few full on hot .243WSSM rounds if I feel the need to launch things at 4000fps or whatever they get out of them, but I'm not a speed-demon when it comes to hunting or shooting.(Driving is a different story)

I have a Dtech 243 WSSM and stick with heavier bullets (100 gr) and slower powder (H450). The heavy bullets buck the wind better than lighter ones at longer ranges anyway. Muzzle velocities run about 100 fps faster than the .243 Win. with this combination and since I use only for deer and coyote hunting at my age (74), I'm not too concerned w/having to replace a barrel. Shucks, I quit buying green bananas a couple of years back
wink.gif

As knockemdown stated, if I wanted a bolt gun, I'd stick w/the 243 Win. as ammo more commonly available and easier to load for, but the WSSM is great on an AR platform.

Regards,
hm