6mm 95gr. Berger Reloading Issues

coues7

I have a good friend who has been a long range shooter for some time. He is a self taught reloader and has done amazingly well. His rifle is a factory Ruger M77 with a factory barrel. The rifle is chambered in 243 Win with a 1:9 with barrel.

He was shooting the 90 gr. Nosler BT's at 3000 fps using IMR 4831. His groups were 3/8" @ 100 yards so we know the rifle can shoot. He recently decided to go with the 95 gr. Berger Hunting VLD in an effort to get a better BC.

No he can't get the rifle to shoot anything smaller than a 1" group. He's used H4350, H4831-SC and IMR 4831. Does anyone have any other recommendations?

Thanks,
Scott

Work on the COAL. I think the powder choice is good. Right now I am running 46.5 grains of H4831 with a 95 grain nosler ballistic tip using the federal 210 primers. These are with a 6mm remington.

One other thought is to change out brass. It gets to a point where the brass needs to be annealed or new brass needs to be brought in.

These are just some thoughts, hope it helps.

The VLD bullets need to be jammed hard into the lands. I usually go for .040" into the lands. They also should be shot at 300 yards or more. Their performance at 100 yards is pretty meaningless.

Jack

In the multitude of rifles i have fired this bullet out of....by far most of them prefer the bullet seated quite deep into the lands. I have also had one 6mmx.284 barrel that just would not shoot it at all. .030"-.040" into the lands is normally where I start with new development.
John

Originally Posted By: pcammoIn the multitude of rifles i have fired this bullet out of....by far most of them prefer the bullet seated quite deep into the lands. I have also had one 6mmx.284 barrel that just would not shoot it at all. .030"-.040" into the lands is normally where I start with new development.
John
+1
With VLD bullets .040" jammed into the lands is where I start. That is usually about where I end up also.

Jack