Heaviest bullet for a .243 with a 1-10" twist

fireguyty

My buddy and I are working on project guns to shoot 1000 yards. I have a .243 Win with a 1-10" douglass barrel, and I think it would be fun to see how far I can stretch it out while I'm at it.

So, how heavy? Most bullet web pages recommend 1-8 for the 105 grain stuff. So I figured maybe I could use 95 Berger VLD or Sierra MK. Am I on the right track?

Also to anyone that uses the VLD, do you always just single load?

Thanks,
Ty

I'm no expert by any means,,only been reloading for about a 1 1/2 years,but according to Lilga precision rifle barrels,,a document I found on the internet,,it say's your good for up to 100gr bullets

Last edited:
I had a .243 AI with that same barrel and it wouldn't shoot the 95s very well, but some people shoot them i think. You will for sure be able to stabilize the 87 Vmaxs, which are a good bullet, I don't know how they are at 1000 though.

I shoot 100 gr. bullets in two different 6mm Rem. 1-10 twist Shilen barrels w/o any problems. Both are sub moa rifles.

Regards,
hm

I agree with the 87 V-max being a good bullet. I had a Ruger mkii .243 that is listed as a 1:10 and it shot the 105gr A-max about 3/4 MOA out to 200 yards. I have heard that the Berger VLD's don't work but have no experience with them.

Originally Posted By: dogmessiahI agree with the 87 V-max being a good bullet. I had a Ruger mkii .243 that is listed as a 1:10 and it shot the 105gr A-max about 3/4 MOA out to 200 yards. I have heard that the Berger VLD's don't work but have no experience with them.

I have a Ruger Mk II .243, also listed as a 1-10, and it shoots the 105 amax very well out to at least 5 -600 yards. YMMV.

"Also to anyone that uses the VLD, do you always just single load?"

Yes, because you have to use a solid bottom action for the best accuracy.

Jack

Thanks for all the replys.

DDJ, I was eyeing the same bullet, I hope it works for me as well.