H4895 vs. IMR4895

BOBTAILS

How much difference is there between these 2 powders? Has anybody tried to see if one will shoot well in your gun the other does also or not?

The IMR powders seem to have a bit faster burn rate. That being said, you should treat them as different powders and work up loads for each. Your rifle will tell you what it wants.

and h4895 is an extreme powder(not temperature sensitive)
and IMR 4895 is not an extreme powder(temperature sensitive)
and according to the powder burn rate chart,IMR 4895 is slightly faster burning then h4895

I'm not a powder expert, but I just looked in my Hodgdon 2010 manual and it has H4895 as a faster powder than IMR4895. Also any loads using H4895, for any cartridge, seems to shoot faster with the same charge and bullet weight than with IMR4895.

I believe that the IMR is a bit slower, but I have loads that transfer over pretty close. I have a 223 77 nosler load in IMR that is unbelievable and the same load in h4895 shoots almost the same.

Originally Posted By: K-22hornet.The IMR powders seem to have a bit faster burn rate. That being said, you should treat them as different powders and work up loads for each. Your rifle will tell you what it wants.

+1
In one rifle, I have tested both 4895 powders, the "H" version shoots best. Not conclusive due to only one sample test, but that's what happened with my 222 Mag.
As said, treat them as different powders when working up loads. Good advice by K-22Hornet.