Branding dogs, yes or no

[/quote]
how much does a typical iron run? im wanting to brand my catahoula cross here in the next week or two? also was wondering how brands turn out on somewhat longer haired dogs? [/quote]

Sorry I don't know.

I have no experience branding dogs only horses. I am anxious to give it a try myself. I bet there are welding shops in your area that build irons. Give some a call.

Good luck. Keep us posted as to how it goes.

I don't have a link, but have bought a few irons from this outfit. They are good quality, and priced fair.
Search "L-H Brands" Mandan SD.

Not "stupid", a good "?". I "juice" them, and cut nuts at the same time if they need it.
"Juice" makes things much easier, for branding and castration.

I freeze brand all mine on their ears because when they look at a stranger or listen to them the person will see the brand and usually won't pick them up. Mike

Quote: how much does a typical iron run? im wanting to brand my catahoula cross here in the next week or two? also was wondering how brands turn out on somewhat longer haired dogs?
Sorry I don't know.

I have no experience branding dogs only horses. I am anxious to give it a try myself. I bet there are welding shops in your area that build irons. Give some a call.

Good luck. Keep us posted as to how it goes.

Pittsburgh foundry is a good place to work with, will send you a photo of the cad file before it's made, and guarantees your satisfaction. He will do anything up to 4" including custom work (like mine that he's just finished!) for $75 and also offers mini and micro versions for a good price (to brand tack, wife, whatever else)

Last edited:
Zachvu, I don't know how you did it, or why but that is not my quote.
confused.gif

DoubleCK... You actually quoted that statement top of the page. But it didn't work up there because you have two end quote tags [/quote] surrounding it for some reason.