at least one brave teacher left

Javelina Hunter

Got this email today at my web site. thought I would share it. I'm glad to see at least one public school teacher is'nt politically corect. magine teaching/protraying hunting in a favorable light- in public school

Qoute:
I am a third grade teacher and we will be reading The Three Little Javelinas by Susan Lowell. I was wanting the students to do research on comparing and contrasting the javelina to the pig, the wolf, and the coyote. I want them to pretend they are going on a hunt for javelinas and they have to know the difference between the animals. Have you ever video taped a hunt? I would like to purchase a video. Do you have anything about 15-30 minutes long and that gives information about the javelina and shows a hunt?

I also wanted to make up a fake hunting permit for hunting a javelina. Do you have any old permits you could mail to us, so the kids to see a real permit?

Do you know of any info (books) on javelinas that is about 3rd grade level?

Do you have any pieces of skin from a javelina? (gross, but the students would love it)

I would appreciate any help you can give us. Thanks.
Evonn, Scottsbluff Public Schools Unquote

My answer to her was:

Evonn,

What a fabulous and novel idea. Discussing hunting and animal identification with children...Maybe even learning about hunting permits and how the money spent on licenses and permits goes for habit improvement, research, endangered & non game animal reintroduction, etc.

I would be happy to send you our J-13 Javelina call, Javelina Hunting & calling tips booklet, Arizona hunting regulations, old Javelina
permit, old hunting license, and a Javelina hunting video.

I don't have any Javelina hide at this time (mine are mounted on the wall). Check with Arizona hunting guide Pat Feldt, at www.arizonahunting.
net He’s good people, and may be able to help you.