243 Win - Federal Primers vs CCI

CalCoyote

I am just getting started into reloading and the 243 Win will be my first caliber. I have been studying about it for the last few monthes and slowly gathering components as they became availiable. I have 300 CCI LR primers, 1000 Remington LR, and I have had 1000 Federal LR primers on backorder for several monthes with Cabelas. My plan was to shoot all three and see which grouped the best in my rifle and then trade off the ones I don't want. Well, Cabelas just emailed and said they have no idea of when they could ship the Federal, but they could substitute with CCI.

I know each rifle has its own appetite, but how important will it be for me try all three? This is a sporter weight factory barrel (Savage) that I will be mounting on my previous 223 action. How much difference will the brand of primers likely make, or will that be the least of my problems? Should I just go for the CCIs?

A little extra info: I will start working up loads with H414 and Varget. I have some 55g noslers, 80g Remington, and 95g Partitions. I plan to start with the 80g and hopefully shoot those this summer for coyotes, and then work up a recipe for the partitions for hunting Blacktail up here in NW Oregon this October.

Last edited:
Primers are about the last thing on the list that I go to change when working up loads. Most of the time, it doesn't make much difference in accuracy or velocity whichever manufacturer you choose.

Now dont get me wrong, you can try 3 or 4 and find out what your rifle really likes, but this is a hunting rifle and most the time, any primer will give 1/2-3/4 MOA with a good worked up load which is plenty accurate. The only time I"ll do a primer swap is if I cant get the rifle to shoot at all with the multiple outings and different powder charges and seating depths, which are a lot more critical to accuracy then what brand of primer you are using.