243 win Reloading Dies Questions??

mt boy

Hi guys ,Before I ask any questions I just want to say when it comes to reloading I am no expert by no standers.I reload for my hunting rifles and have not loaded for any type of match round. Ok i recently bought a 243 ruger m77 markll target in a 243 win with hope of doing some longer range shooting just to see what happens. Am getting ready to order some dies and brass and was wondering what dies you all would suggest for something like this.My reloading set up is a RCBS pretty much the basic stuff.would a regular F/L rcbs die set be fine or is there a better way to go.Also any other reloading tools that would be help full please let me know.

A regular full length sizer die would work fine, after you progress as a reloader you may want to consider a neck only sizing die to add to your collection. With a neck sizer you won't work your brass as much, you will get more life out of it and potentially more accurate ammo. You will still want that full length sizing die even then to bump the shoulder back if they need it.

If you plan to reload a lot of bottle neck cartridges you will also want either a trimmer or a filing die to get your brass the right length, bottle neck cases grow when you shoot them and over time they will go too long out of spec and need to be shortened. You can get by with a few loading without it but make sure you measure the overall length after you resize your brass each time, if it gets too long it can be unsafe

Some will disagree with this, but I would recommend you buy the Lee deluxe three die set. They are much cheaper than the other dies out there, and still get the job done. Plus the Lee collet neck sizing die is awesome in my opinion. But keep in mind part of the reason Lee is so cheap is because they don't dress your products up for you so you will have to clean them well when you first get them.