6x45 or 6 WOA

Brent Parker

Ok guys I'm just getting into ar's and want one in a 6mm. It will be mainly used for coyote hunting. Normal ranges are normally around 100 yards or less but almost never over 200 yards on called coyotes. I will also be shooting the ocassional bobcat. I do save and put up fur so a bullet that won't make big hole most of the time is important. Just looking for something different. Any thoughts or recommendations on these two cartridges? Thanks Brent Parker

i have been wondering the same thing, not much info on the net on the 6woa, not even on white oak's website. both of those should be easy to load, and find supplies for...probably easier than the 6mm ar or turbo anyway.

The 6x45 would probably do everything you want. It puts out about 30% more energy than the .223, it is VERY easy to load for, it is extremely accurate, and you can get by with a shorter barrel than a .223. The brass is all but free, it uses the same bolt and magazines as the .223/5.56. There is very little not to like about it.

The 6 WOA is a great cartridge as well. It was designed for Camp Perry, and does a great job at it. It is a 6.8 SPC case necked-down to 6 mm, with the shoulder pushed back and sharpened to 30*. Pushing the shoulder back made a little more room in the magazine for the longer bullets, and I believe that is what John had in mind when he created it.

My new wildcat, the 6mm DTI, is much like the WOA, but the shoulder is blown forward to increase case capacity. This gives it a little bit more velocity on the light to mid-weight bullets. The 70 to 90 grain bullet is what I had in mind when I designed the DTI, and it's doing a great job at that.

Bang for your buck, it's tough to beat the 6 x 45, but if you need to get more energy and velocity, the WOA or DTI is the next step up.