1st Turkey

TimberToes

Gee, only took me 53 years.. ok I guess we dont count the baby years, lol.

A bird from a place I Coyote hunt... about 1pm, after only seeing a Hen at another place, and after trying some public land, I made a call and begged for permission...
smile.gif
I knew the area had Birds.
9-1/2" beard. Hunted all day, 1 hen seen, 1 white-headed, light colored gobbler? feral-domestic ? seen, then finally this one, an Eastern, and he made his last gobble at about 5:30.

Taking this Bird was made even better by using my first turkey box call I ever made.
Heck, my adrenaline was pumping so bad, I could hardly work the call for the first few minutes!!
Load was Federal #4 3" in a Benelli Nova
When the season is over, I will give the landowner the Box Call. Its the least I can do!

834188716_QXiZN-L.jpg

Nice bird. Although I'm no turkey expert, I believe that is a Rio Grande. The easterns have chocolate brown or dark buff tips on the tail coverts (the shorter feathers that cover the long tail feathers). It possibly could be a hybrid, but looks identical to the RGs I just shot in OK. Here's a couple of photos for comparison. The first one is an Eastern taken in GA last year and the second one is a Rio from OK this year. Yours looks more like the Rio, but I know TX has some easterns as well. I didn't intend to divert your thread and hope you'll pardon me.

DSC_0047.jpg

IMG_0025.jpg

Thanks for that info, I really appreciate the help!

now, what kind is that three feather with a hat bird ?
smile.gif

I dont question for a minute that my county would have both. About 45 minutes east, on a Public WMA,different county, its "eastern turkey season", which makes one belive only Easterns live there..

And no doubt as one goes west from my area, its Rio country.

Would the two types breed ?

Also I note in pictures of Rio's the end of the tail feathers are much whiter, where as in both of your (fine) birds
smile.gif