tell me about the 20 vartarg

BOBTAILS

I am looking at a 20 vartarg, how many of you out there got one? This will be a 300 yard and under gun. So what are your likes and dislikes?

Bobtails, you are seeing the light.

I have been shooting the 20VT for over five years now. I have two of them.

IMHO, it is the best PD rifle out there. Both of my Coopers love 32gr. V-Max's, and I'm working on a 32gr. BK load as well. Without any doubt, they are my go-to rifles for 300 yd., and less, PD's.

"Ugly Betty", and that's another story, has hundreds of PD's to her credit.

Efficient, accurate, etc, etc. What else can I say.

If I was asked to give up all of my rifles, save one, it would be a 20VT. No doubt.

There isnt a whole lot one can dislike about the 20VT. My Cooper 20VT is a fantastic shooting rifle, probably one of the most accurate I have. The VT is a great choice for prairie dog shooting, its efficient, low recoil and has a very respectable velocity for the case size.

The 20VT has earned a place in my safe for many years to come.

I have thought that it would be a neat project to build a 20 Vartarg to "replace" my 17 hmr. For me it would be interesting find a nice 40g grouping down on the lower end of the power spectrum. I would think that this would result in a muzzle blast considerably less than a 223. I have never shot a coyote with anything less than a .224 caliber, but it would be interesting to see how effective a 40g bullet would be with a slightly reduced charge.

BT, If you havn't been there, go to saubier. com and you can learn alot about the 20VT and any other small caliber you might be interested in. It has been my favorite forum for years now, besides PM of course.
The 20 VT is the Bee's knees as one of the guys over on Saubier would say. Would be perfect for your described application. Think you would love it. D