help new reloaders

Ok thank you for the prompt attention. I'm coming home in a few days for r and r maybe I'll pick up a couple books. I'll be at cabelas anyways. The wifey said i can buy a new predator rig, I'll be looking at the Tikka t3, Howa ranchland or a savage in .243. Those are the rifles I have narrowed down to seems like they are about neck and neck so I'm going to go shoulder a few and see what fit and finish I like as well as how it shoulders for me.

Hey S1ngl3shot:

Don't know if you noticed but I provided you a reloading tool shopping list per your previous to last post, so take it with you when you go to Cabelas as you're spending bucks there anyway...they sell some of the list items.

I have been reloading for over 30 years. This is all good advice that is being given.
Just hope that the new reloaders will follow some of it, and not be the guy that knows everything!

Good Hunting!

This has been an excellent read. I am relatively new to reloading, and brand new to this site. Great advice folks!

One topic I haven't seen be addressed yet in this thread is the question of how many times can you "safely" reload your brass. Are there any good rules of thumb on this?

I reload for 22 hornet, 222/223 rem, 204 ruger, 243 win. So what does everyone think - 10 times for the hornet, 5 for 222/223 class calibers, and maybe just 3 for other speedier (magnum type) rounds?

When I first began to research reloading, I decided I would:
1) buy factory ammo first for each new rifle
2) neck size only then
3) and invest in some better quality seater dies

So I get a Lee Deluxe Die kit which gives me a full length sizing option as well as a collet neck sizer die, plus a shell holder that you always need anyway. But then I like seater dies with a micrometer so that I can get my COL's really precise and minimize bullet runout.