.222 rem for fox and coyotes

grousebum

Wondering what your thoughts are on the .222 for both fox and coyotes?

I asked in another thread in the Ammo forum re a factory bullet that's good for both in .223 and a few guys suggested a .222. After asking around some more it sounds like it might be a good route to go.

Thoughts? Comments?

Thanks.

.223 is way more prevalent and choices for ammo is definitely larger as well. I would say the .223 is definitely the way to go when wanting a versatile caliber.

Personnaly I would take the 222. Most accurate cartridge I ever owned and the crosswires never leave the target when shooting. I've had two 223's and I can't say the same about them. But I think myour gonna have an easier time finding the 223 and certainly have an easier time finding ammo.

I'm new to this racket but I have a copy of Gerry Blairs book- Predator Hunting.He's VERY highly regarded among fur hunters.He says the .222 is the ideal cal for the east,mid, and some areas of the west.For many years it was the top benchrest and varmint round.The only reason the .223 became more popular was due to it's adoption as a military round.FWIW-I would buy one in a heartbeat if I had the money.Things are just a little tight right now.

If you reload, get a 222, if you dont get a 223.

I have a 700 in a .222 rem and its the most accurate rifle I've ever had the pleasure of shooting. It will put (3) 40g vmax into .1"-.3" any day of the week with IMR4198 at 3600fps from a bench.

Thats a tough combo to beat for fox and coyotes out to 300 yards. I aint lost one yet!!

I'll never sell my triple deuce...

what kyotekiller said if you reload I have 4 722's 1 725 2 700 vls's and 1 700 varmint special and they will all shoot 5 shots 1/2 or better with 40 50 or 55gr v-max and work on yotes to 300 yds

I have a Rem 788 in .222, it shoots great. I like a healthy dose of H322 (3200fps) and a Speer 50g TNT. I haven't shot a yote yet but it does a good job on woodchucks.

Mike