Damaging scope w/ windage adjustable rings

Roger London

Is there enough adjustment in this type of ring to cause you to bend a scope? I put a set of Weaver all steel windage adjustable rings on my new XS7 to mount a Redfield Revolution 3x9. This is my first time ever using windage adjustable rings. The instructions with the rings said to adjust the rings in opposite directions to make the gross windage adjustments before using the scope adjustments, but gave no precautions against going too far, nor did the scope packaging have any warnings against the use of windage adjustable rings so I assumed (you know what they say about assuming) that there was not enough adjustment in the rings to hurt anything.
The scope looks straight but the rifle doesn't group as well as I was expecting and the clicks on my scope don't seem as distinct as a friend's Revolution does w/ standard rings. Could I possibly have the scope in a bind?

i've never managed to damage a scope in windage adjustable bases.

i suggest you start this project from the rear base and go from there.

make sure your scope is optically centered. you can either do this by counting clicks (tough to do if the scope does not have positive stops), or place the objective flat against a mirror and adjust the turrets until the two images you will see in the mirror/scope are aligned on top of each other. from this point until you have at least a 200 yard zero you aren't allowed to touch the windage knob on your scope.

bore sight your rifle/start sighting in. spin the elevation adjustment to get where you need up/down to be. use the windage base screws to adjust for windage (push the rear of the scope in the direction you want bullet impact to move). once you are close enough at 100, go to 200 and make the final adjustments. once you are close w/ the base adjustments, click the windage knob to fine tune. you shouldn't have more than 4 or 5 clicks to get your windage set (fewer is better).