How to PROPERLY set up a die to full length size??

drakeky

I have been reloading for about 3 years for several rifle calibers and have had good success. I reload a lot for AR type rifles and have enjoyed it greatly. But after reading and reading and reading some more on the subject, I find there are numerous ways people set up a die to full length size the case. I was just wondering what is the "right" and best way to set up a die to full length size a case. I have read the instructions that come with the dies and this in my opinion is not the best way to set the die up. I was wondering what everyone else did? Right now I am using RCBS standard two die set. I am getting ready to purchase the Redding Competition dies for two different calibers, .223 and .204. Any info????

I'm sure this is one of those opinion questions, so I'll get mine in there. The way the manufacturers instruct you to set dies might oversize your cases causing excessive headspace. The way I do it came from "Precision Shooting and Reloading Guide." Not sure if it is the best, but it works for me.

Run a fired case into the die with the die in all the way. Then chamber the empty to see how easily it closes.

Then back the die away a full turn from the shellholder and size another case. This should chamber harder.

If it does, then turn the die down 1/8 turn and size the case and chamber again checking for resistance.

Repeat until you just begin to feel the case chamber easily, then lock it down and get to work.

You can also buy case guages if you really want to get them set precise and take the trial and error out of it. I think Wilson makes them.

I usually do it per the manufacturers instructions, but I do load for a .270 that seems to be a hair long in the chamber so on that one I do this;

Start with the sizing die about two turns off the case holder. "smoke" the case neck with a sooty candle or in my case I wipe on some inletting black.