Fleshing ?

gethuntin

Ok i am having a hard time fleshing my coyotes i bought the tw handled fleshing knife but it was only like $20. Is there a trick to it?

Check this guy fleshing its just falling off for him did he prepare it differently presoak in something, better knife, deer vs. coyote?
confused.gif
Just click on the 6 minute mark about.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iv7q5Dlrf2o&feature=related

Last edited:
Fleshing is'nt that easy for me either.I dont really think theres a trick to you just have to keep scrapin the meat until its all off.I dont even mess with the stuff around the eyes and stuff but I probably should.I'll get as much as possible off with a pocket knife buts its almost impossible to get every bit of meat off of the eyes,gums and nose.At least for me it is anyway.I hate fleshing I need a machine that does it for me.I'm not good at it at all but this guy made it look easy.

Lay your skin with the head at the top of the beam,stretch it out and make sure there are no wrinkles in it.Place your body up against it to hold in place.As you push the knife,pull it to the side so that you are making it slice as you go down.It's all about the angle and amount of pressure you apply and like anything else it takes practice.Fattier animals are a little harder to do.When you get to the face you would do yourself a favor by buying a scalpel and a box of blades.I like #22's.Split the lips and eyes and flip them inside out.Take a tennis ball,stretch the skin of the face over it and pull it tight and use your scalpel.The tennis ball helps alot.You can also purchase a small set of ear openers for opening the ears up.Practice makes perfect and the speed will soon come.Buy one of the yellow Smith sharpeners at the hardware store and keep your fleshing knife sharp.