which mil dot scope for $300 to $500

Originally Posted By: sscoyoteWhatever u do try and purchase a mil-dot optic that's calibrated for a power lower than the highest. I have a 6-18 Nikon Buckmasters MD that's cald. for 12x (typical of all the Nikon mil-dot optics). But i apply it for rangefinding and downrange zeroing at the optic's highest power (18) where it now becomes 2.4 inch per hundred yds. between dots and the dots become a 1/2" dot now instead of a 3/4" dot...basically.

How can you tell what your mill dot is calibrated at if you bought the scope used with no book or any information about it?

Whenever u get a mil-dot optic, it should be marked on the power ring somewhere. But it's a good idea to check it. If u wanna' use it at the milliradian subtension of 3.6 inch per hundred yds. then go out and set a target at 100 yds. with 2 lines on it separated by 36". Then adjust the power ring until u've bracketed those lines perfectly between all 10 mils (heavy post tip to heavy post tip). Then mark the power ring somehow. But u should be careful with some optics. I was looking thru a Swift optic a couple days ago at a gun show and the last mil unit (from 4th mil to 5th mil) was larger then the other dot to dot spacings, so i'm not even sure if it was made correctly. Probably a good idea to make 2 more lines at 3.6 IPHY too and double check the dot to dot spacings as well.

Now when i checked my 6-18x Buckmasters @ 18x (mil. is supposed to be 12x) i just measured the reticle as accurately as possible on one of those sight-in tgts. that have 1/2" lines on them. The dot to dot subtension of that optic was as calculated (66% of 3.6 IPHY or 2.4 IPHY). I prefer to use my optics for rangefinding and downrange zeroing at it's highest power, instead of mil-cald. power. This way i have positive "zero stop" if u will that is very consistent.