Coyote 243 Bullet Choice

beavis

Im new to coyote hunting, but I been varmint hunting for several years now. The longest kill on a groundhog was right under 400 yards. The places i got to coyote hunt this year offer shots a little over 600 yards. I bought a remington sps varmint in 243. I replaced the factory stock with a HS Prescision Varmint stock and got the trigger adjust down to 2 pounds which is very crisp and does indeed break like glass. I have it topped with a bushnell banner 6-24 and leupold rings. I was wondering what bullet choice would be good for coyotes at longer ranges. Im a big fan of sierra blitzkings and would like to give the Nosler BTs a try. I was thinking of using the 70grs in either one. But i would like to hear opinions on my set up and bullet choice. Im open for all opinions on bullet choice. Do coyote hunters prefer velocity on just energy because I hear alot of coyote hunters use the higher weight bullets with slower velocities. The reason i thought about the 70grs in because my velocity would be around 3400fps. Any ideas or opinions is appreciated.

I like both the 55s and the 70s for coyote hunting. The 75 Vmax is another great bullet along with its bigger brother the 87 Vmax.

Currently I'm shooting the 70 NBT because I ran out of 55s... I've been impressed with the performance on coyotes, and the accuracy out of my 6mm Rem.

You really can't go wrong with any of the plastic tipped bullets 55-87 grains... whatever your gun likes best... that's what I'd shoot.

Here's a dog from last week that took a 70 NBT right in the "exit" at 309 yards courtesy of the 6mm Rem. This would have been a tough task for a .22 centerfire... but the big 6 handled it well, and the dog went down on the spot.

WeldDog.jpg

80 gr boat tail spire points 37.5 gr imr 4064
don't know the speed and don't care its the most accurate i found in my rifle.
been killin coyotes with that load for 19 years

i have been using the 75 gr. vmax with great success.