Maxus+mojo+spitfire=dead coyotes

ontario_caller

This past saturday i decided to go call a new chunk of
land that i have been eyeballing for about 2 years now,real close to another spot i have scored at in the past.
The morning broke cold,clear and quiet at -10c.
Walking in threw the crusty snow was incredably load.
My first set of about 30 mins yielded no takers.
This strip of timber is about 100 yards wide with a highway flanking its east side and standing corn flanking its west side
the timber runs north and south for several thousand yards.
As i am leaving the first stand i hear a huge racket way off in the distance.
Turns out to be the farmer combining frozen corn,i decided to use this to my advantage and use it to cover my approace sound to my next set much further into the strip of timber.
I reached my next set,and placed the mojo and spitfire at the bottom of a steep incline about 30 yards west below me and slightly to my right.
I had a 70 yard opening at my back side and then a highway the wind was coming from the north east blowing across the opening to the highway.
I waited for the combine to get to the far side of the field before i started to call.
I started out with some lonsome howls on my ruffidawg and waited a few minutes and then switched over to baby cottontail on the spitfire about 5 mins into baby cotton tail i catch movment through the trees from my left,first one then two coyotes at about 60 yards,both dogs spoted the mojo and froze up.
I lowered the volume from 3 to 2 on the spitfire and one dog came strait into the decoy,i lost sight of him for a moment below me so i flicked off the safety and rasied the shot gun up anticipating him to appear below me almost on top of the decoy.
A second latter his head and shoulders appear over the rise about 5 yards down wind of the mojo,he looks around the area and locks onto me.