Need some tips on hunting black bear in Idaho!!

butchtango

I will be moving to Idaho for 4 months in April. I am interested in doing some black bear hunting with my bow while I am there. I will be living in Meridian, ID it is just west of Boise. The sections that I am close to are 32,38,39 and 40. I have looked in the regulation books but only see one section (section 39) with a season for black bear. I am more than likely looking at this wrong so feel free to correct me. I did see a controlled hunt in section 32 and 32a that I think I will apply for but not sure how likely it is for me to draw a tag.

What is the best way to hunt these bears with a bow? Over bait? calling at them with a distress call...etc??? I have never hunted bear and being from Missouri I have no prior knowledge of what to expect or how to effectively go about hunting black bear. Any help on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

I've successfully harvested black bear in Idaho using hand calls. One method I like to do is call over bait? Get a bait set up or locate carrion by watching for circling buzzards above the trees. Hike in to the location and try to get within 300 yards of the carrion or bait. Then make a stand. Use fawn bawls mixed in with some growls on an open reed. Just like coyotes, make sure to play the wind. Bears respond slow like a cat so 30-60 minutes on stand is common. I've never hunted any of the regions your inquiring about so I'm no help there. Sorry. Good luck and good hunting!

Tom Austin

Baiting will probably be your best bet unless you want to hire someone with dogs to run one for you.

I haven't hunted them in Idaho but from what I understand you can bait them anywhere you find a good spot (In Wyoming we have to sign up for areas).

I bait them with table scraps and pastries in a plastic 55 gallon drum strapped to a tree. I try to find a spot that has a view from two hundred yards away and hunt with my rifle but most set up a tree stand 15 yards from bait.