Ideas needed for skull mount!

rizzo

I clean a lot of skulls and decided to mix things up a little and add some color to one. This is hammered copper on a bobcat skull. What do you guys think?

skull_bobcat_copper1.jpg

skull_bobcat_copper2.jpg

I am going to donate it to an auction at a local hunting club, but I want to put it on a plaque or a pedestal or something like that. But I'm no artist, so I need some ideas! Anyone?

Glen, is that a dip or did you brush that on...what?

I think it would look good on a black steel rod above a dark wood plaque.

Tim - that sounds like a good idea! I'll have to play with that a little. I tried to brush something on a test bone, but it just wasn't going on evenly enough. Haven't tried a dip, though I have some good ideas for that. With this skull I used a spray on primer, then a spray on hammered copper applied in 3 even coats, and right now I am adding a clear coat.

Yeah but this isn't Krylon. I used the primer with this stuff to make sure that I got really good adhesion and durability.

rizzo, first off, COOL! Second, when you say spray on are you referring to spray can or an airbrush? Lastly what other finishes are available...silver, gold,???

How about a 6-8 inch copper/brass/stainless/etc rod mounted to a nice wood base plate. Then attaching the skull to the rod (drill and epoxy in the bottom of the skull???). Kinda floating/suspended. Could do the same with a bend in the rod right at the base to make it wall mounted. May not be a good idea, just the first thing that I came up with.

Looks cool like it is for sitting on the shelf or book case.

A dip would open it up to patters too. Carbon Fiber/camo/etc.

B

The teeth usually get loose as you degrease the skull, easy enough to remove and whiten them as you do the rest of the skull. Then glue them back in place.

Trying to mask them off and rattle can around them would give pretty poor results.