Varmint Grenades

Justin Huntsman

Hey guys just learned about the site and am excited to share the info I have and get lots and lots of info from you.

Anyways I just reloaded a bunch of Varmint Grenades for my 22-250 in 50 gr with 36 grains of varget pushing it. Im a pelt hunter and just wanted to know if anyone has had bad experiences with exit hole, or if there claim of no exit wound it true. Thanks a bunch!!

Welcome!

I have no personal experience, but everything I have read here seems to say that those are not very good. I don't remember exactly why. . . .seems like some said they splash.

Anyway, good luck, and enjoy the best web page on the net.

Welcome to PM Justin Huntsman!
grin.gif

Jack

Ya, you have to have an entry to get an exit. Those are varmint rounds, hence the name. They're designed to explode in something the size of a prairie dog, I wouldn't expect them to be able to punch muscle. No experience with them.

Barnes recomends a 1-10 twist rate or faster with the 50 gr Varmint Grenades. Most 22-250's are 1-12 or 1-14 twist rate. Unless you have to shoot lead free bullets stick with the good old lead bullets. Lead free bullets are very long for what they weigh. If you want to shoot lead free bullets in your 22-250 you may have to go down to the 36 gr Varmint Grenades.

i've shot a lot of the 36's and 53's out of my 250. 1-12 twist. the 53's don't shoot real but the 36 shoot great. as for fur it's a toss-up. the 36's work very well on smaller game like fox and jacks. they are horrible on coyotes unless head shot. mine are about 4200-4300 fps.

Shot them for the first time last night shot about a .5 inch group and 100 yrds and got lucky today and got to shoot a nice male yote at about 150 yrds. Exit was about the size of a nickel, easy sewing job ha ha ha Ill get a picture up later. Thanks a ton guys.... p.s. just picked up some 36's excited to try them!!!