I Missed!!!!!

btw1982

This is my first year coyote hunting. I live in northern IL, and hunt about a 600 acre piece of timber. I have found lots of coyote sign, so i went out and called with a haydel goverment cottontail distress.......with SUCCESS. but i missed when i shot. how long should i wait to go hunt the spot again. thanks for the advice!!!!

I think that I would be waiting at least a week, and when I went back I would set up differently. If you called one there are more in the area, move off a mile or so and try another area.

I would just give it a day or two to settle down, and give it another shot. The next time he comes in, if he comes in..make shur you really watch the down wind side as he probley won'nt be as bold as the first time. If you see him, and he's aways out there and comeing in, just let him come..Try a different sound to start with, and if that does'nt work go back to the sound that worked for you the first time Good luck! Send us a picture when ya nail him!!

what are other good distress calls to use, I have mainly read about the cottontail distress? any other good mouth calls out there?

flutter your tounge on that government hunter cotton tail it will do a killer bird in distress then you will not need a different call. set up in a new spot and keep a eye on your downwind.
Good luck

Any distress call will work, you just have to mix it up.

Some times I get hits with a distressed rabbit, puppy distress sounds and bird sounds.

Give your area a few days to weeks, it all depends on how much pressure these guys are getting. Just try not to educate the coyotes too much.

By the way get use to the missing them thing, I miss them all of the time. My hunting buddy tells every one that I have the shoot and release method down! LOL...

Last edited: