22 Magnum ammo

marco

Ive been shooting the 22 magnum for over 30 years and in that time Ive been doing alot of hunting and testing different ammo I just wanted to see what was the best all around pure varmint type ammo and this is what I came up with. For all around power and bullet expansion and down range power I have to pick the Winchester 34gr. Supreme at 2,100+Fps. it just seems to hit the hardest at all of the 22 magnum ranges out out 150yds. Number 2 would have to be the Rem/CCI 33gr. V-max hard hitting and excellent expansion. The CCI 30gr. TNT is very close to the supreme and Rem v-max and does fragment better out to 100yds. it just doesnt have the hard hitting energy past 100yds. Last place the new 30gr. V-max ammo from CCI/Hornady the one thing I notice about this new round is at close range I not getting any fragmentation and at long range expansion isnt that great it is very accurate though. ~Marco

A couple of years ago, I tested several 22WMR ammo, also. My testing was done at 50 yrds, so Your longer range tests are greatly appreciated.

My tests were done by shooting in to water soaked computer paper, with my Ruger 96.

The most devastating in regards to fragmentation and damage, was the TNT. It also penetrated the least and it is one of the few that didn't shoot MOA in my 96. The Winch. 34gr. and the Rem. 33gr. did very well. Not as much damage to the (paper) wound channel, but still very impressive. Both rounds fragmented, impressively. They also penetrated more than the TNT. At the time of my testing, the Hor. V-Max was not yet available.