Remington 510 targetmaster help

1trkyhntr

Guys,
I have a Remington 510 Targetmaster .22 single shot that my grandfather left me. I have refinished it but the bolt handle is loose where it attaches to the square steel block on the side of the bolt. Do you know how I can tighten it? I'm NOT a gunsmith, so technical terms will go right over my head. If it is a simple fix I'll try it, if not I'll take it to a gunsmith.
Thanks, Mike

I have one from my father, but the handle is good.
Maybe try over at Rimfirecentral.com for an answer.

Blue loctite might be a simple cure if its filling in thread clearance.

H

I have one as well, I traded a scope to my cousin for it. They a great little rifles. I have been wanting to find a good gunsmith to build me a new rifle on my action. I know it would be cheaper to just buy a Kimber, but I want something diffrent.

On to your problem. Is the bolt handle loose on the bolt assembly or is the entire bolt loose in the closed position. I'll get mine out of the safe in the morning and take a look at it.

The bolt handle is loose from the bolt assembly. It attaches to a square steel block that is attached to the bolt assembly.
The bolt assembly itself is tight in the closed position.
Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks, Mike

My first rifle was a Rem 510 that I bought in 1949 with money I save from mowing grass, and shoveling snow for about everyone in town. That one went the way of many rifles, but I bought another 10 years ago to replace it.
Most of the bolt handles on these rifles are loose when you get them, or will be after a lot of use.
Don't worry about it, just shoot the rifle and enjoy it. I put a Weaver 2-7x rimfire scope on mine, and love just plinking with it.