lion help?

howler22

So I am pleading for some suggestions. I am located in western Oregon and have some friends with a cougar hanging out, killing some sheep and goats. I have a lot of experience calling dogs but I have not called a cat yet. The property is about 30 acres with open fields and timber squeezed between similar adjoining properties with the same cat problems. I would be greatful if you guys could give me some calling sugestions about sounds to use, set up considerations, best times or any other things I am not thinking of. We cannot use dogs here (liberals voted that out). Thank you in advance

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: bigfish57Can you bait?

No bait or hounds in Oregon.
Well not for Lions or Bears anyway. It is legal to hunt Bobcats with hounds though..
Never have figured that one out???

Charlie

I’m not one for electronic calls but if I were solo I might just pick a good sound and let the E-caller do the work and keep your free. From what I understand the first rule of calling lions is find an active territory. It sounds like you’re already in their kitchen. Some folks recommend a fawn in distress call but I’d just grab a shrill rabbit call and blow it till the cows come home. keep us posted. If you need somebody to do the calling I'll blow my guts out for ya.

Talk to rainshadow, he has a cd that he has made and he has said that he has a newer one out too. He has called in some cats before, and has recorded them too. Heck he might even go out and help you if asked him real nice like, you just never know. Anyway shoot him a PM and go from there.

Good luck,

gonzaga

Thanks for the plug, Zag!

howler22, here's the nutshell: Get near it without it knowing you're there, then call it with the best tools in your box, to a stand where you see it first.

Simple?

No.

But it's lots of fun figuring out how to get it right!