Stumped - reloading 40S&W

elkhuntingfool

I have loaded a lot of pistol and picked up an XD40 and loaded some up. COL length is dead on and OAL is dead on. However, when I attempt to fire them out of my XD they will not load, in fact, one jammed. I am stumped. I'm not a newbie, my 45s and 9s fire perfectly.

I had to buy a box of ammo (yuck). I kept a round and brought it home to compare to my loads and I am EXACT in everything.

Am I missing something with the XD?

Thanks!

Question 1) Did you try the factory ammo and if so, what were the results?

Question 2) Did you try a different magazine?

Question 3) Did you have any problems loading the magazine?

3a) Spring overly weak or strong?

Question 1) Did you try the factory ammo and if so, what were the results? Fired every time.

Question 2) Did you try a different magazine? Tried both mags with reloads - won't load. Factory ammo - no problems

Question 3) Did you have any problems loading the magazine? No problems with loading either factory or reloads.

3a) Spring overly weak or strong? Couldn't tell a difference when loading either factory or reloads.

Get a Lee factory crimp die and the problem will go away. Had the same problem with a tight chambered sig in 40. Also check your OAL in the chamber of the gun. May have a short chamber, or need to fiddle with the OAL to get it to feed. Also bullet shape may be the factor. Had a P220 that didn't like 200grswc but fed everything else. Just expirement. A little goes a long way in OAL.

I shoot a .40 Walther P-99 and the only times I've had a problem with my reloads involved:

Either too short OAL cartridges that had a different bullet configuration (changed back to original configuration) or the magazine springs seemed weak and had a problem pushing the follower on a consistent basis (went nose up).... I replaced the mag springs and the problem was solved...